Four professors awarded tenure

Andy Dolan

Four Lawrence professors have recently been granted tenure, which assures them a teaching position at Lawrence. The four professors are Jerald Podair of the history department, Matthew Stoneking of the physics department, Dirck Vorenkamp of the religious studies department, and Timothy Troy of the theater and drama department.

They were the only professors up for tenure at that time.

Jerald Podair received his B.A. from New York University, his J.D. from the Columbia University School of Law, and his M.A. and Ph.D. from Princeton University. His interests include 20th century American history, urban history, and American race relations. He recently wrote and published The Strike That Changed New York, which examines the 1968 Ocean Hill-Brownsville crisis.

Matthew Stoneking received his B.A. in physics from Carleton College in 1989 and his Ph.D. in physics from UW Madison in 1994. He has been an assistant professor at Lawrence since 1997. His interests include plasma physics and magnetic confinement of non-neutral plasmas.

Dirck Vorenkamp received his B.S. from the University of Tulsa, his M.A. from the University of Kansas, and his Ph.D. from UW Madison. He specializes in Asian religions and Buddhism.

Timothy Troy received his B.A. from Lawrence in 1985 and his M.F.A. from the University of Iowa in 1989. He has been involved in numerous theatrical and musical productions.

Newly tenured professors Dirk Vorenkamp, Jerald Podair, Timothy X. Troy, and Matthew Stoneking. (Jonathan Edewards)